Review: RoomMates Peel and Stick Wall Decals

We decorated the front bedroom – now called the nursery – not too long ago so didn’t really want to re-paint it following the news that we will soon be parents. The fact that we’re having a little girl and the room was pink and brown was a happy coincidence and one we felt didn’t need to be altered. However, we wanted to “kiddify” the room and turn it from a spare room into a nursery where the little one will live.

We came across wall stickers as a simple and easy way of doing this. We found plenty of these online and decided to go with the RoomMates peel and stick scroll tree wall decal which we bought from Kiddicare. Below you’ll find my review of the product.

Product Description

The product is described as:

Both sophisticated and fun, you’ll love livening up your walls with this tree! Featuring funky, curly branches, brightly-coloured flowers, and some friendly feathered friends, our Scroll Tree is the perfect touch to nurseries, bedrooms, and playrooms. Every element is re-positionable, meaning it’s easy to move the tree around as you like. No need to worry about getting it perfect on the first try!.

  • Easy to apply and remove in seconds without damaging the surface
  • Waterproof and wipe clean
  • Can be applied on walls, furniture, accessories, mirrors, windows etc
  • Can be re-used and repositioned without leaving a sticky residue
  • Contains 80 elements. Assembled tree is W 162.5cm x H 147.3cm

Having decorated one of the nursery walls with these RoomMates stickers, I think the product description is spot-on. The quality is excellent, the colours are vibrant and the characters are very cute.

2014-07-16 16.00.19

Close up of the colourful stickers on the wall

Cost and Postage

The wall art stickers cost us £34.99 – on sale from £43.99 – from Kiddicare.

Even with the discount, we considered this to be pretty expensive, particularly as we’d seen other sticker sets online for considerably cheaper. However, we really liked the scene and knew that it would fit perfectly in the space we had earmarked. Other stickers we had seen were not quite what we wanted in terms of appearance or size so we decided to plump with the more expensive one.

We also considered that redecorating the room – either painting or wallpapering – would set us back a similar amount of money, so on reflection, £35 to create a cute, feature wall which we really liked was not too bad.

We bought the item on a Sunday and it arrived with us on Wednesday morning. As the order was over £29.99, we qualified for free delivery also. The item arrived without any damage (and without a photobombing sausage dog).

2014-07-16 10.44.01

The stickers in their packaging with an intrigued puppy

Ease of Assembly

Once unpacked, we were left with two large sheets of stickers and the instructions. Each sticker had a number which corresponded with a suggested photo of how to put your sticker scene together. This was very useful as I initially thought that I’d either have to create the scene myself or look at photos online and copy them as best as possible. My only complaint is that the numbers on the instructions were pretty minute and difficult to make out – but that is me being pretty picky!

2014-07-16 10.45.28

The 2 sheets of stickers when rolled out

2014-07-16 10.45.53

A close up of the stickers and their numbers

I read the instructions which were pretty self explanatory:

  • Simply peel carefully from sheet. Then position it in the desired location making sure that the surface/wall is clean and dry and smooth onto surface making sure to remove all bubbles.
  • To remove or reposition, slowly peel off the wall and re-apply in the new position.

Getting the first bit of the tree positioned correctly was the first awkward bit I encountered. If it was on an angle, then the rest of the tree would be a bit wonky up the wall. This did give me the opportunity to try out the “re-positionable” aspect of the stickers though, which as advertised, was very easy to remove and re-apply without leaving a mark on the wall.

2014-07-16 11.03.19

The missus getting her “stick” on

We followed the sticker numbers in the photo and carefully assembled the tree on the wall. Overall, the assembly was very simple. The only thing that slowed me down was the sheer number of stickers – which isn’t a bad thing – and the fact that some of the stickers were very difficult to peel off from the backing – again, a very minor point. I was impressed though that none of the stickers ripped or tore, which I expected would be the case, particularly with re-positioning.

Although there is a suggested photo of what the scene could look like, you can let your creativity go wild should you wish! As the cot takes up part of the wall, we didn’t want stickers to be out of sight, so we stuck the flowers, squirrel and hedgehog elsewhere in the nursery. Similarly, we used a flower to cover up the join of where the branches came out from the tree as that looked a little messy. We also had branches going off at slightly different angles to fit around the light switch and to cover up existing marks on the wall!

2014-07-16 11.34.46

A naked tree with two owls

In total, the scene took about 2 hours to put together. Significantly less than painting or wallpapering and with arguably a nicer result – at least in our opinion! We also had a few random stickers left over – a few hearts and leaves – which confused us to start with, but we just added them to other areas of the bedroom.

Summary

Overall, we are very happy and impressed with the RoomMates peel and stick wall decals. We really like the scene and the different colours / patterns used throughout. The stickers were also very good quality, easy to assemble and easy to reposition. We now cannot wait to pop out the baby and get her accustomed to her new friends, namely the yellow owls and pink squirrel! The cost was a little on the steep side and encountering issues with some of the stickers being difficult to take off the backing paper were the only slight negatives.

I also enjoyed assembling the sticker scene, mainly because it reminded me of my childhood where I spent time peeling the back off footy stickers to putting them into my Premier League Panini albums.

2014-07-16 10.47.10

Before the transformation…

2014-07-16 15.59.29

…and after the transformation.

DADventurer Star Rating

4.5 out of 5

 

N.B. This review was written by me (Dave) and represents my honest opinion of the product. We purchased this product ourselves.

 

Post included on the following linky’s:

Family Fever







  • Tom @Ideas4Dads

    We did exactly the same when we decorated our nursery – no point redeocrating the whole thing of you can use stickers instead 🙂

    • Exactly our mentality – a few people have asked if we’ve decorated the nursery, but it seems a waste of time and money just to repaint for the sake of it. Might have been a different story though I guess if we were having a boy and the walls were pink – but then again, I’d probably be described as pretty metrosexual 🙂

      • Tom @Ideas4Dads

        Lol keep it as simoke as possible I say 🙂

        • Is “simoke” a word that all the cool kids use now a days 🙂

          • Tom @Ideas4Dads

            Its like ‘simple’ just more ”street’ 😉 *so i’m told*

  • Pingback: All Star Mr & Mrs Pregnancy Q&A | The DADventurer()

  • How very pretty! So much easier then painting the whole room x

    • Thanks Kim, we’re chuffed with it. Agree – why paint or wallpaper when you can just stick on some pretty stickers! Hopefully the little one will like animals 🙂

  • Caroline Elliott

    Looks fab! We have decided on these stickers for our baby room too but not bought them yet! Great to see them in action, they look lovely 🙂 xx #triedtested

    • Thanks Caroline – great, we are really happy with them. Hopefully the review helped and shows it is a pretty quick and easy job to transform a room with them 🙂

  • This is so pretty! A simple way of brightening up little ones room. Thanks for sharing on #britmumsreviews

    • Dave

      Thanks Jai 🙂 Cheers for setting up the linky – do you have a badge for it which I can include in the post as I couldn’t find one on the site?

    • Thanks Jai – we’re very happy with the results.

  • Kate Fever

    This looks lovely! I like the fact that the stickers are numbered, but also that you can get a bit creative and move things around to suit. Thanks for linking up with #TriedTested

    • Thanks Kate – yeah that’s what I liked too. I did have a slight moment of panic when I saw every sticker was separate, but the numbering helped. The fact that you can get creative is also good – not sure if I said in the review, but on the layout they had, it would have meant that all the animals would have been behind the cot, so we spaced them out around the rest of the room. Thanks for your comment 🙂

  • Susanne Remic

    Wow, really transforms the room doesn’t it? Its great that they’re good quality too as we’ve had wall stickers before that had ripped even before the backing paper is off! x x

    • Thanks Susanne – exactly, that was one of my reservations about getting stickers / transfers – I imagined they’d be a bit like those fake tattoos you’d stick on yourself with water! But they’re nothing like that and are really good quality – no rips or tears despite taking off and sticking back to the wall numerous times!

  • Keri Jones

    What a great way to change the look of a room. I’ve never thought of using wall decals before but these look and sound fab.

    • Thanks – we were / are very impressed with them and everyone loves them when they check out the nursery.

  • Pingback: The Name Game: Choosing What To Call Your Baby()

  • Pingback: Review: Baroo Ellefunk Cot Coverlet And Bump Pods()