Review: RoomMates Peel and Stick Wall Decals

We decorated the front bedroom – now called the nursery – not too long ago so didn’t really want to re-paint it following the news that we will soon be parents. The fact that we’re having a little girl and the room was pink and brown was a happy coincidence and one we felt didn’t need to be altered. However, we wanted to “kiddify” the room and turn it from a spare room into a nursery where the little one will live.

We came across wall stickers as a simple and easy way of doing this. We found plenty of these online and decided to go with the RoomMates peel and stick scroll tree wall decal which we bought from Kiddicare. Below you’ll find my review of the product.

Product Description

The product is described as:

Both sophisticated and fun, you’ll love livening up your walls with this tree! Featuring funky, curly branches, brightly-coloured flowers, and some friendly feathered friends, our Scroll Tree is the perfect touch to nurseries, bedrooms, and playrooms. Every element is re-positionable, meaning it’s easy to move the tree around as you like. No need to worry about getting it perfect on the first try!.

  • Easy to apply and remove in seconds without damaging the surface
  • Waterproof and wipe clean
  • Can be applied on walls, furniture, accessories, mirrors, windows etc
  • Can be re-used and repositioned without leaving a sticky residue
  • Contains 80 elements. Assembled tree is W 162.5cm x H 147.3cm

Having decorated one of the nursery walls with these RoomMates stickers, I think the product description is spot-on. The quality is excellent, the colours are vibrant and the characters are very cute.

2014-07-16 16.00.19

Close up of the colourful stickers on the wall

Cost and Postage

The wall art stickers cost us £34.99 – on sale from £43.99 – from Kiddicare.

Even with the discount, we considered this to be pretty expensive, particularly as we’d seen other sticker sets online for considerably cheaper. However, we really liked the scene and knew that it would fit perfectly in the space we had earmarked. Other stickers we had seen were not quite what we wanted in terms of appearance or size so we decided to plump with the more expensive one.

We also considered that redecorating the room – either painting or wallpapering – would set us back a similar amount of money, so on reflection, £35 to create a cute, feature wall which we really liked was not too bad.

We bought the item on a Sunday and it arrived with us on Wednesday morning. As the order was over £29.99, we qualified for free delivery also. The item arrived without any damage (and without a photobombing sausage dog).

2014-07-16 10.44.01

The stickers in their packaging with an intrigued puppy

Ease of Assembly

Once unpacked, we were left with two large sheets of stickers and the instructions. Each sticker had a number which corresponded with a suggested photo of how to put your sticker scene together. This was very useful as I initially thought that I’d either have to create the scene myself or look at photos online and copy them as best as possible. My only complaint is that the numbers on the instructions were pretty minute and difficult to make out – but that is me being pretty picky!

2014-07-16 10.45.28

The 2 sheets of stickers when rolled out

2014-07-16 10.45.53

A close up of the stickers and their numbers

I read the instructions which were pretty self explanatory:

  • Simply peel carefully from sheet. Then position it in the desired location making sure that the surface/wall is clean and dry and smooth onto surface making sure to remove all bubbles.
  • To remove or reposition, slowly peel off the wall and re-apply in the new position.

Getting the first bit of the tree positioned correctly was the first awkward bit I encountered. If it was on an angle, then the rest of the tree would be a bit wonky up the wall. This did give me the opportunity to try out the “re-positionable” aspect of the stickers though, which as advertised, was very easy to remove and re-apply without leaving a mark on the wall.

2014-07-16 11.03.19

The missus getting her “stick” on

We followed the sticker numbers in the photo and carefully assembled the tree on the wall. Overall, the assembly was very simple. The only thing that slowed me down was the sheer number of stickers – which isn’t a bad thing – and the fact that some of the stickers were very difficult to peel off from the backing – again, a very minor point. I was impressed though that none of the stickers ripped or tore, which I expected would be the case, particularly with re-positioning.

Although there is a suggested photo of what the scene could look like, you can let your creativity go wild should you wish! As the cot takes up part of the wall, we didn’t want stickers to be out of sight, so we stuck the flowers, squirrel and hedgehog elsewhere in the nursery. Similarly, we used a flower to cover up the join of where the branches came out from the tree as that looked a little messy. We also had branches going off at slightly different angles to fit around the light switch and to cover up existing marks on the wall!

2014-07-16 11.34.46

A naked tree with two owls

In total, the scene took about 2 hours to put together. Significantly less than painting or wallpapering and with arguably a nicer result – at least in our opinion! We also had a few random stickers left over – a few hearts and leaves – which confused us to start with, but we just added them to other areas of the bedroom.

Summary

Overall, we are very happy and impressed with the RoomMates peel and stick wall decals. We really like the scene and the different colours / patterns used throughout. The stickers were also very good quality, easy to assemble and easy to reposition. We now cannot wait to pop out the baby and get her accustomed to her new friends, namely the yellow owls and pink squirrel! The cost was a little on the steep side and encountering issues with some of the stickers being difficult to take off the backing paper were the only slight negatives.

I also enjoyed assembling the sticker scene, mainly because it reminded me of my childhood where I spent time peeling the back off footy stickers to putting them into my Premier League Panini albums.

2014-07-16 10.47.10

Before the transformation…

2014-07-16 15.59.29

…and after the transformation.

DADventurer Star Rating

4.5 out of 5

 

N.B. This review was written by me (Dave) and represents my honest opinion of the product. We purchased this product ourselves.

 

Post included on the following linky’s:

Family Fever